OER Hangout: Searching and Publishing in OER Repositories

When: 
Wednesday, April 15, 2020 -
12:00 to 13:00
CDT
Location: 
Online in Zoom
Presenter(s): 
Melinda Boland (Director, OER Services at ISKME & OER Commons)
Kevin Hawkins (Assistant Dean for Scholarly Communication, University of North Texas Libraries)
Patricia Mulroy (Supervisor, World of Learning Institute)
Anita Young (World Language Instructor & Virtual Learning Specialist World of Learning Institute)

12pm CDT (10am PDT / 11am MDT / 1pm EDT)

 

Open educational resources (OER) are free to access. Open Creative Commons licenses allow teachers to legally make copies, adapt, and share these resources in order to meet the specific needs of their students. OER repositories make it easier to find, evaluate, and share these resources.

In this discussion-based webinar, gain tips about how to use OER repositories to find high-quality openly licensed educational resources to use in the language classroom, and to share your own creations with other teachers. There will be 20 minutes of presentation time, and the rest of the hour will be dedicated to your questions and to conversation between participants and panelists.

 

  • Melinda Boland directs development of OER Commons and all partner implementations, including professional learning programs and community building efforts with a team of trainers, project managers, librarians, and designers who together produce all of ISKME's OER products and services.
  • Anita Young and Patricia Mulroy work on a team at the World of Learning Institute at Appalachia Intermediate Unit 8, a program that provides face-to-face world language instruction in a virtual environment for students who cannot access them in their school. They have made the open resources they developed for their Spanish and German courses available for other teachers to use on OER Commons.
  • At the UNT Libraries, Kevin Hawkins and his team help educate members of the UNT community about OER and partner with others on campus to run some programs in support of OER.  

 

Sponsored by: